New Years Resolved


“We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential.” ~Ellen Goodman

 I posted this quote on Facebook today as a greeting to herald in the new year.  As GW Bush used to say, “it ‘resignated’ with a lot of people and after going back and reading the messages and “likes” I decided it isn’t just an outgoing message; it needs to resonate with me, too. 

Try this at home.  Come up with 2 hidden potentials you wish to pursue.  Okay now  come up with 5 things you’d like to change about yourself in the new year. For me these both were challenging.  The first because I haven’t had time to think about it, and the second is tough to deliver, not because it requires too many answers but because getting to five would require a lot of culling. After a tough and drastically changing year (part of a sizable lay-off, starting a new business, gifted teenage daughter moved in with us who all the teachers are recommending we send to a prestigious private high school and all the financial tensions those things involve), I had let the ridiculous philosophy of “if only________________, then I would have it all” slip into my spirit.  First of all, do I want “it all”.  And what kind of responsibility and time management crises come with “having it all”.  And is there ever really a magic bullet to personal fulfillment.

Like many my life is in flux, but unlike many, I have as a client, Robin Samora, principal of Letsmakeyoushine.com, a professional and personal life coach who has an amazing track record with established and budding entrepreneurs.  So I contacted her. Sent her the quote and asked her how one finds his/her potential.  And she ended up being inspired by the quote as well and wrote her own blog about it.  Here’s a quote from Robin:

“Here’s the good news. We all have greatness. We all deserve to live in the light and share our gifts. If you are aligned with your true purpose then you are living in some way to serve – not always through your day job, but through your daily life. It all starts with a decision. To be more, to do more, to live more, to have a more amazing life, which in turn will help someone else along their path. It’s funny, one small gesture, or kind word, or phone call can be the catalyst toward making someone’s day a bit brighter – or can be a lifesaving comment to change how they look at the world. I’ve been witness to it many times, and it is humbling.

Your words and your actions are all dots that connect to a much bigger picture. When you aren’t being your glorious self, and living to your maximum potential, you’re not only doing yourself a disservice, but also not being who you were meant to be. You know those “tingles” you get? That’s your connection to what’s really happening in life. Follow those tingles, and your intuition, and take a real look at who you are now, and peek into the future of who you were meant to be. I can assure you, that you are way cooler than you ever thought you could be, and here to make an enormous difference in this world”

An enormous difference in the WORLD??? Yikes I better get started.  I guess for some, feeling the “tingle” is harder than others; because if you are overwhelmed you can’t see outside the minute.  That’s where coaching can help.

I’m working to identify my hidden potential.  I’m confident in the more visible ones, but what’s hidden is by its nature a mystery to me.  And while I don’t see dead people, I do see potential in my friends that I wonder if they know about.  So I’ll take baby-steps, and  Robin’s advice about a kind word, I will identify some here.

  • Betty has a flair for writing
  • Wendy has teaching ability
  • Jon, well, he keeps demonstrating new talents every day

The list goes on and on. Maybe that will be my new goal – an acknowledgement a day about someone else’s potential. 

I suggest you do the same – acknowledge the spark you see in someone else, and in so doing you will serve others and yourself in finding your true potential.

Feel free to contribute your own potential you intend to develop or identify someone else’s on this blog. You can also contact Robin through her website  http://letsmakeyoushine.com/ to read the rest of her blog or for help scraping the gunk off the brilliance you could be taking to heart and to the bank.

HappyNew Year 2011

© 2010 Alison Colby-Campbell

One response to “New Years Resolved

  1. Wow, this is such a thought provoking post – and I am thrilled to have a “shout out!” Thanks for sharing your inspiration, Alison.

Leave a Reply

