Uncategorized

If your garden looks like mine, here are a lot of yellow cucumber blossoms hidden beneath giant leaves with a shared dream of pickledom..never tried pickling anything, but this is worth a go, I think. Could be this year’s homemade Christmas present…stay tuned.

The Not So Super Mama


Yes, you read right.  3 days!  I LOVE pickles.  My last pregnancy I ate an entire jar of pickles and a pint of ice cream for dinner on more than one occasion.  When they are small and crisp and a bit of spice to them- WOW!  But, I never thought of making them myself.  It seemed too fussy, and I wasn’t experienced in canning.  Then I saw this recipe on www.frugallysustainable.com and thought I would give it a try.  I am so glad I did.  What a hit!

I don’t have much of a garden, we’ve had such a mild summer here.  So I bought some pickling cucumbers at the farmers market last weekend.  The smallest ones I could find, and just enough for one quart size jar.  It was hard to wait three days to try them, but it was worth it, and now that I’ve almost finished this…

View original post 393 more words

Leave a Reply

