Dream A Little Dream of Me – Dream Analysis through the Years


What a stupid bunch of dreams last night yielded.

Last night I dreamt about: A billboard for hookers, naked Bill Cosby with a summer reading list, crashing a beauty pageant, pursuing my own TV show co-hosted with my tap dancing friend Betty Chambers, the cacophony of everybody singing different songs at the same time, and a slinky black dress worn over a Kelly green tee shirt.

This dream seemed so random,  it must have some hidden meaning that will, upon revelation, change my address to Easy Street. So, of course, I Googled Dream Analysis. Back in the days before e-readers, I used to know a bit about this sort of thing through the consumption of hard covered books on the subject. But it appears what I used to know is out of vogue today. This pseudo-science has been evolving over the last decade or two. And besides, I’d never had reason to look up “naked Bill Cosby” in any of those long discarded books.

I am a vivid, color, dreamer. I thought this made me pretty special, but now reports say we all dream in color. According to www.dreamtree.com “People who notice color more in waking life (artists, house painters, etc.) generally notice color more in their dreams, as well.”

I remember dreams, a fact I attributed to: wacky unforgettable dream content and that I awaken very easily without spending time in twilight limbo. But according to the headline of a 2003 article on http://mentalhealth.about.com/cs/mindandbody/a/dreamcreate.htm, “Creative people remember their dreams more often”, and I was okay with that. It actually made me feel good about myself, so I read on. Well, what Dr. David Watson, a professor of psychology in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences actually noted was that:

“…individuals who are prone to absorption, imaginativeness, daydreaming and fantasizing are particularly likely to remember their dreams.

“There is a fundamental continuity between how people experience the world during the day and at night,” he said. “People who are prone to daydreaming and fantasy have less of a barrier between states of sleep and wakefulness and seem to more easily pass between them.”

Not quite so complimentary now, is it? It makes me sound a little frivolous, if not out-and-out nuts. But it seems Dr. Watson suffers from a little “imaginativeness” himself.  Is that really a word, doctor?

I originally studied dreams  because I had such vivid recurring ones:

  1. I’d lose a tooth
  2. I’d fly
  3. Monsters were chasing me
  4. I had too much gum in my mouth and couldn’t get it all out
  5.  I’d be thrust on stage in a play without ever having read the script and I’d try winging it.

Do you share these dream themes? Or have different ones? Let me know. What I learned back then about these was that in the deepest nighttime:

  1. The Loose and Lost Tooth Dream meant you were growing either spiritually or intellectually. I haven’t had this dream in ages, maybe my growth is stunted by middle age.
  2. The Flying Dream was just a good time. I do still dream this and I usually wake up with a sense of excited, happiness.
  3. Being Chased Dream was causal to an OTC multi-vitamin I took at night because it made me feel sick in the morning. The vitamin had an energy boost and the adrenaline would kick in as I slept making me think I was scared and fleeing something. The dream stopped when I stopped the vitamin.
  4. There wasn’t an answer for the Gum Dream. I still dream this from time to time.
  5. This was a Frustration Dream that can take any form of being underprepared and overwhelmed. I still occasionally dream this.

Then there was a period where dream specifics were ignored in favor of the way the dream made you feel. However you felt in the dream was a reflection of how you felt in real life.  So the tooth thing was kind of startling but I could deal with it. The flying was still a good time. The vitamin was still a mistake. The gum a little scary and confusing. The frustration dream aptly named.

But today’s analysis according to: http://www.dreamdictionary.org/ differs somewhat.

Losing teeth is a common dream.As bizarre as this dream may be, don’t be alarmed because it’s quite common. Falling teeth (dreams) point to all of our worries and anxieties that surround us in life and not being in control. If you are under a lot of pressure and worried about the outcome it’s possible this dream may appear.”

And flying according to:   http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/

“If you are flying with ease and are enjoying the scene and landscape below, then it suggests that you are on top of a situation. You have risen above something. It may also mean that you have gained a new and different perspective on things. Flying dreams and the ability to control your flight is representative of your own personal sense of power.”

Neither DreamMoods.com nor DreamDictionary.org has much good to say about the never ending gum dream. But DreamMoods said it best:

“To dream that you are unable to get rid of your gum suggests that you are experiencing some indecision, powerlessness or frustration. You may lack understanding in a situation or find that a current problem is overwhelming. The gum in your mouth is a metaphor for something that you are trying to process or digest. Perhaps you feel that you have bitten off more than you can chew.”

The frustration dream remains the same.

So I believed all these answers when I was young  because it was much easier to think my life could be understood by an outsider when it was getting too confusing for me. But my current dream, what the heck should I make of that mess? And then it started to become clearer. This dream seemed so disjointed until I realized that through this cryptic cauldron, I spent my few hours of “down time” reliving the whole week. Is it any wonder I woke up exhausted?

BILLBOARDS relate to my advertising career, one client is working on signage.

WORKING GIRLS – My stepdaughter wore a shirt around the house I thought was too revealing.

READING – We went to the library for forgotten summer reading books.

MY OWN TV SHOW – Work again. I’d found a possible TV stint for a client, while also checking out opportunities for myself.

BLACK DRESS -The dress I wore in the pageant was one worn by Rebecca on “Cheers” when she dated Woody’s father-in-law in an episode I watched on Netflix. Woody’s wife was “Kelly”.

SINGING DIFFERENT SONGS –  Jon’s father said a song was stuck in his head, so we all tried shouting different catchy tunes to release the trapped song.

BETTY –  Betty posted photos of herself in a tap dance competition on Facebook, reminding me of our college talent show act where she really danced and I was comic relief.

So you see it’s all very literal. Except of course that part about naked Bill Cosby, and, well, that’s a rock I’m just not willing to turn over.

Please, just let me dream about flying tonight.

 ©2012 by Alison Colby-Campbell

ps: Are you a moon fanatic aka a “lunatic”? Check out my Moon Dance post https://brain4rent.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/what-a-wonderful-night-for-a-moon-dance-full-moon-inspired-haiku-photographs-aug-2/

3 responses to “Dream A Little Dream of Me – Dream Analysis through the Years

  1. To sleep, perchance to dream…

  2. Pingback: ONE (OR MORE) PERFECT FUNGI/MUSHROOM – 24 HOUR PHOTO CONTEST | Brain4rent's Blog

  3. Pingback: ONE PERFECT FUNGHI (ie MUSHROOM/S) 24-HOUR PHOTO CONTEST | Brain4rent's Blog

Leave a Reply

